A Prohibition To Counseling Children Against Same-Sex Attraction

 

A Prohibition To Counseling Children Against Same-Sex Attraction

SB201:

VIOLATES the Exercise of Right of Conscience!
VIOLATES Parental Rights!
VIOLATES Individual Choice Rights!
VIOLATES Religious Liberty Rights!

This bill prohibits even “talk” therapy opposing same sex attraction…..
but its okay to promote the LGTBQ agenda.

We must oppose SB201: SB201 prohibits a psychiatrist, psychologist, homeopathic physician, social worker, registered nurse in psychiatry, and marriage and family therapist from providing any “sexual orientation or gender identity” therapy that seeks to change behaviors or gender expressions or to eliminate or reduce sexual or romantic attractions or feelings toward persons of the same gender. The bill even prohibits parents from seeking help for their child and prohibits the child under 18 from seeking help.

Consider the far reaching effects of this bill.

—Your religious liberties, free speech and your rights as a parent will be gone.

—It interferes with the doctor/patient relationship.
—This bill will affect marriage and family therapist
who are staff members of churches or          religious counseling centers.
—Will this lead to a parent being accused of child abuse because they counsel their child against LGBTQ ideas?
—How will this bill affect “psychotherapists” who also serve as lay clergy in their church and counsel youth and families?

SB201 Bill Text: http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/79th2017/Bills/SB/SB201_R1.pdf

From the Nevada Constitution:

-The Nevada Constitution in Article 1 Section 4 states: “Liberty of conscience. The free exercise and enjoyment of religious profession and worship without discrimination o preference shall forever be allowed in this state…but the liberty of conscience hereby secured…”

The Nevada Constitution Ordinance provides “That perfect toleration of religious sentiment shall be secured and no inhabitant of said state shall ever be molested, in person or property, on account of his or her mode of religious workshop.
This bill has passed the Senate and is now up for a vote in the Assembly Health and Human Services Committee on Wed. April 26th.

ACTION
1. Share your opinion online:  https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/Opinions/79th2017/A/
2. Contact: Assembly Health and Human Services Committee:

Mike.Sprinkle@asm.state.nv.us, Amber.Joiner@asm.state.nv.us,Teresa.Benitez-Thompson@asm.state.nv.us, Richard.Carrillo@asm.state.nv.us, William.McCurdy@asm.state.nv.us, Brittney.Miller@asm.state.nv.us, Tyrone.Thompson@asm.state.nv.us, Steve.Yeager@asm.state.nv.us, Chris.Edwards@asm.state.nv.us, John.Hambrick@asm.state.nv.us, James.Oscarson@asm.state.nv.us, Robin.Titus@asm.state.nv.us,

Also Contact: Republican Assemblywoman Krasner who is a sponsor and ask her to remove her name as a co-sponsor.  Lisa.Krasner@asm.state.nv.us

 
3. Leave a phone message for individual Legislators:

Nevada Legislative Hotline connects with all offices:

800-995-9080, Las Vegas 702-486-2626, Reno/Carson 775-684-6800


MESSAGE
: (write your own message). Vote NO on SB201.  SB201 violates the fundamental rights of parents in the upbringing of their children. It violates Rights of Conscience of psychotherapists and other professionals. It violates the choice of children under 18. It wipes out religious liberty and free speech. This bill even prohibits talk therapy unless it reinforces and encourages the LGTBQ agenda.
MESSAGE on email subject line:
Vote NO on SB201
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Please help Nevada Concerned Citizens keep you and others informed with a donation today.

Click here to Donate     http://nevadaconcernedcitizens.org/